Nominations closed: Labour’s runners and riders

Published by Jonathan White on January 13th 2020, 6:06pm

At 14:30 this afternoon the Labour Party officially closed its its nominating process for both the leader and deputy leader of the party. Going forward to the next round there will be five candidates for the leadership and five for the deputy leadership.

The five candidates that have made it to the final round in the leadership contest are Rebecca Long-Bailey (Salford & Eccles), Lisa Nandy (Wigan), Jess Phillips (Birmingham, Yardley), Sir Keir Starmer (Holborn & St Pancras), and Emily Thornberry (Islington South & Finsbury).

Clive Lewis (Norwich South) withdrew his name from nomination just hours before the deadline after having secured public support from just four fellow MPs. Emily Thornberry captured the required number of nominations with just 20 minutes before the half-past-two deadline. Sir Keir is currently the favourite, having secured 89 nomination with Long-Bailey in second on 33.

In the deputy leadership race, the candidates that made it through are Rosena Allin-Khan (Tooting), Richard Burgon (Leeds East), Dawn Butler (Brent Central), Ian Murray (Edinburgh South), and Angela Rayner (Ashton-under-Lyne). Khalid Mahmood (Birmingham, Perry Barr) withdrew his name before the deadline. Butler, Allin-Khan, and Burgon all scrapped the required number of names today with Rayner the clear favourite with 88 nominations with Murray in second place with 34.

The contest will now enter the second phase with which is decided by a one member, one vote system using the alternative vote method. Members rank their preferred candidates and those with the least votes are eliminated and their support transferred until one candidate secures at least 50 per cent plus one vote.

The vote opens on 21 February and closes at midday on 2 April with the results due to be announced on 4 April. Full results are below:

Leadership position

Keir Starmer 89 nominations

Rebecca Long-Bailey 33 nominations

Lisa Nandy 31 nominations

Jess Phillips 23 nominations

Emily Thornberry 23 nominations

Clive Lewis (withdrawn) 5 nominations

Deputy leadership position

Angela Rayner 88 nominations

Ian Murray 34 nominations

Dawn Butler 29 nominations

Rosena Allin-Khan 23 nominations

Richard Burgon 22 nominations

Khalid Mahmood (withdrawn) 3 nominations

Share this article

About The Leaders Council

The Leaders Council of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is a network of the most influential figures from across the country. Through detailed case studies, news coverage, podcasts and leadership events, we strive to unearth the authentic voice of British industry. Find out more About us and our Membership Benefits.

Related News Stories

Authored By

Jonathan White
Political Correspondent
January 13th 2020, 6:06pm

Follow Us

Stay up to date with the latest news on politics and business. Follow @LeadersGBNI on Twitter for more live updates

Share this article

Popular Stories

NEWS | Published May 8th 2021, 8:08 am

Grant Schapps announces green list of travel destination

NEWS | Published May 6th 2021, 9:09 am

MENTA to resume in-person networking events this month

© Copyright 2021, Leaders Council.